passed a law last week that adds a penalty for assaulting a worker who’s “conveying public health guidance” — that is, telling patrons of a business to wear a mask or maintain social distancing. In Illinois, aggravated battery is usually a
The law went into effect immediately.
governor’s office said in a statement on the new law.
woman assaulted another customer at a Staples store who had asked her to wear her mask over her nose and mouth. Also this month, police said a
Pennsylvania man shot at a cigar shop employee who’d asked him to wear a mask.
broke the arm of a Target employee in an argument over masks.
Pritzker required anyone leaving the house to wear a mask back in May.
The state also debuted some punishments against businesses who fail to follow the mask mandate: Under the Illinois Department of Public Health’s new emergency rules, businesses that repeatedly refuse to comply with mask requirements could incur a fine anywhere between $75 and $2,500.